MENTAL TRAINING FOR RUNNERS

About the Intensive

Our online Mental Training Intensive is designed to take the performance psychology skills honed over many years by our work with elite runners (the Northern Arizona University cross country team, the pro HOKA NAZ Elite team, Under Armour’s Dark Sky Distance group and many more) and apply them in an online workshop setting. Through the online intensive, runners will be coached on tactical, tangible, and pragmatic solutions to build performance skills such as:

  1. Mental practices to get the most out of training.
  2. Strategies to manage nerves, stress, fear and exertion pain.
  3. Methods to cultivate confidence and belief, as well as proactive performance techniques (such as meditation, visualization and more).
  4. Resilience in the face of adversity (such as injury and uncertain times).
  5. Strategies to develop race engagement and optimal relationship with outcome.
  6. Mental skills to enhance performance in high stakes moments.

Our System

Following the same system that we use with elite athletes, we begin by identifying personal strengths, clarifying vision, and highlighting potential adversity. We then teach the skills that empower athletes to overcome adversity and develop greater consistency and confidence.

Your Coach

Shannon Thompson’s mental performance work out of HYPO2 is offered to a wide range of clients, including elite, professional endurance athletes from around the world, and the Division I teams at Northern Arizona University. Her approach is science based, philosophical, and spiritual. Shannon also conducts psychology research, currently choosing to focus on the critical challenge (the mental skill that makes or breaks an athlete) particular to several sports, with the intention of helping athletes thrive in these moments. She has identified a mental orientation toward training called DARE state, which she proposes to be the state in which to train for optimal progress, and is interested in the contribution of a “love of challenge” to performance improvement, and the psychological aspects of exertion pain management.

PLUS: All sessions feature assistant coaches made up of elite professional runners who live and train in Flagstaff, and athletes from a certain nationally renowned, championship-winning Division I Cross Country program! 

PICK THE BEST SESSION FOR YOUR MENTAL TRAINING
AND TAKE YOUR RUNNING TO THE NEXT LEVEL!

The content of the high school/college MTI will be very similar to the adult MTI. The main difference is that the high school/college sessions will be framed mainly in the context of high school and college cross-country and track, while the adult session will be oriented more toward post-collegiate track, road racing and marathons. Trail runners are welcome to any session.

SUMMER SESSION #1
For High School & College Athletes
$149 for all 3 sessions
July 11, 13, & 15 (Mon, Wed, Fri)

12:30-2:30pm PST
1:30-3:30pm MST

2:30-4:30pm CST
3:30-5:30pm EST

SUMMER SESSION #2
For Adult Athletes
$149 for all 4 sessions
July 11, 18, 25 & August 1 (all Mondays)

5:00 – 6:30pm PST
6:00-7:30pm MST
7:00-8:30pm CST
8:00-9:30pm EST

SUMMER SESSION #3
For High School & College Athletes
$149 for all 3 sessions
July 25, 27, & 29 (Mon, Wed, Fri)

12:30-2:30pm PST
1:30-3:30pm MST

2:30-4:30pm CST
3:30-5:30pm EST

**All sessions will be recorded and available to attendees to watch in their own time following the completion of each session of the MTI.

“HYPO2’s mental performance sessions have been a pivotal part of NAU cross-country’s success over the years. The night before the National Championship there is no one I would have addressing our team other than Shannon Thompson. She brings sincerity and wisdom with a modern touch to the field of mental performance. And this has unlocked the potential of so many of our athletes. I consider Shannon Thompson one of our most influential coaches and her focus sessions some of the most crucial training in our week.”

~ Mike Smith, Director of Track & Field, Northern Arizona University ~
Menu